Adhisthana Retreats

Event Title: The Seven Point Mind Training - Part 1 (Online)

Led by Vessantara

The seven-point mind training is based on the teaching of Atisha on bodhicitta. Encapsulating hundreds of years of experience, it gives us effective methods for practising wisdom and compassion, in meditation and in daily life. It also shows us how to avoid pitfalls and overcome obstacles in our practice. It is down-to-earth and practical; whatever is happening in your mind or in your life, it can help. If you want to get to the heart of the matter of how to put an end to suffering and benefit others, these teachings are for you.

Vessantara wants to explore this text in more depth than one retreat will allow, so this is the first of two. To make each retreat satisfying in itself, each time the teaching will include precepts from several of the seven sections. So you can attend either or both retreats – although obviously doing both will give you the most complete teaching. As usual, there will be presentations, guided meditations, small groups and opportunities to ask questions.

Session Content
Session 1 Meditation with the Adhisthana Community
Session 2 Teaching Session with Vessantara (with Spanish interpretation)
Session 3 Small Groups/Led Practice with Vessantara
Session 4 Teaching Session with Vessantara (with Spanish interpretation)

Session times
Session 1: 7am UK/8am CET/6pm Sydney/8pm NZ
Session 2: 10am UK/11am CET/9pm Sydney/11pm NZ
Session 3: 4pm UK/5pm CET/3.30am Sydney/5.30am NZ
Session 4: 8pm UK/9pm CET/7am Sydney/9am NZ

AUSTRALIANS AND NEW ZEALANDERS:
In place of session 3 you are invited to organise your own groups with those in your time zone.

The 4 sessions be at the corresponding times (and split over two days):
1) 6.00pm Sydney / 8.00pm Auckland (Live)
2) 9.00pm Sydney / 11.00pm Auckland (Live or watch recording the next morning)
** SLEEP **
4) 7am Sydney / 9am Auckland (Live)
N.B. The retreat will finish on the 5th Feb for this timezone.
** Catch up any missed recordings from Sessions 2 and 3 **
3) 3.30pm Sydney / 5.30pm Auckland (Live Oceania Break out groups)

Uploading Sessions: To support those who cannot attend all sessions, we will have sessions 2, 3 and 4 available as video recordings within half an hour of the end of the session.

Partial Attendance: Although it’s best if you commit yourself to the retreat, Vessantara is happy for you to attend only the sessions your situation allows.

Please note: For our online retreats we send out the Zoom link and information for the retreat 24 hours before the retreat starts. This means you will not receive the information from us until 29/01/21

This retreat is for members of the Triratna Buddhist Order

Start Date: 30th Jan 2021
End Date: 4th Feb 2021
Deposit: £50

This Event is by Donation (Dana). Booking includes a non-refundable deposit. Payment above this is on a dana basis, and during the retreat there will be an appeal for dana. If the deposit prevents you from booking, please get in contact via admin@adhisthana.org.

Bursary Fund - If you can’t afford to come on retreat you might be interested in applying for our Bursary Fund.




Click to be taken to practical information for coming on retreat at Adhisthana