Adhisthana Retreats

Event Title: Evoking Shakyamuni: A Retreat for all Order members (Online)

Led by Saddhanandi, Saddharaja and Maitreyaraja

This is the online component of the in-person retreat happening at Adhisthana.

Friday 30th October is the second anniversary of Bhante’s death, so you can tune in to the livestreamed aspects of the day in the lead up to this retreat. The event is available on Adhisthana's youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/AdhisthanaTriratna

The retreat will be led by Saddhanandi, Saddharaja and Maitreyaraja. All of us took the Shakyamuni sadhana at Ordination, and this will be the inspirational theme of the week. We will be using the Dhaniya Sutta as a study text in which to come face to face with the Buddha, as Bhante says: ‘...it represents Everyman confronted by something quite existential: confronted by higher and further possibilities of human existence. So the Buddha meets, or confronts, or challenges Dhaniya as the complacent person, the self-satisfied person, the successful person confronted by a higher spiritual challenge; confronted by what it is possible to be or to do… it is not easy to be touched by the Dharma when you're satisfied in life, or self-satisfied, but it isn't necessarily easier to be touched by it when you are unsatisfied. In other words, you've got to be really disillusioned and not just disgruntled.’’

This confrountation is not only specific to meeting Shakyamuni, it is one of the universal themes of the spiritual life – an individual path of aspiration, of following a noble quest, of responding to the kalyana and a confrontation with a vision. It is a path that involves choices and a deepening relationship with one’s ideals and values. So, the retreat is intended to be relevant to all, whatever your sadhana.

For online week-long events we ask for a £50 deposit, with the opportunity to give more dana.

Programmme:
The retreat will begin with Session 1 on Saturday 31st and finish with Session 4 on Thursday 5th

Session 1 Meditation (1.5 hours)
Session 2 Presentation/Study (2 hours)
Session 3 Led Sadhana (1 hour)
Session 4 Ritual (1/1.5 hours)

Session starting time:
Session 1: 7am UK/ 8.00am Central Europe/ 12.30pm India/ 6.00pm Sydney/ 8.00pm Auckland/ 12am San Francisco/ 1am Mexico City/ 3am New York
Session 2: 11am UK/ 12pm Central Europe/ 4.30pm India/ 10pm Sydney/ 12am Auckland/ 4am San Francisco / 5am Mexico City / 7am New York
Session 3: 4.30pm UK/ 5.30pm Central Europe/ 10pm India/ 3.30am Sydney/ 5.30 am Auckland/ 9.30am San Francisco/ 10.30am Mexico City/ 12.30pm New York
Session 4: 8pm UK/ 9pm Central Europe/ 1.30am India/ 7am Sydney/ 9am Auckland/ 1pm San Francisco/ 2pm Mexico City/ 4pm New York

This retreat is for members of the Triratna Buddhist Order

Start Date: 30th Oct 2020
End Date: 5th Nov 2020
Deposit: £50

This Event is by Donation (Dana). Booking includes a non-refundable deposit. Payment above this is on a dana basis, and during the retreat there will be an appeal for dana. If the deposit prevents you from booking, please get in contact via admin@adhisthana.org.

Bursary Fund - If you can’t afford to come on retreat you might be interested in applying for our Bursary Fund.

Click to be taken to practical information for coming on retreat at Adhisthana