Sikkha Meditation Mentoring Retreat

Continuing on from the success of our 2019 retreat, this meditation mentoring retreat aims to help Order Members deepen our experience, skills and insights in the area of meditation and meditation teaching.

Our goal on the retreat will be to equip you with new understandings and tools to help you take your meditation practice deeper, teach meditation more creatively, and become more effective as a meditation mentor.

We will be exploring the Three Myths of the Spiritual Life – Self-Development, Self-Surrender and Self-Discovery – which outlines different approaches to meditation and the Dharma life found in Buddhist tradition.

Understanding these myths deeply can give us a helpful framework for:
• Understanding our own practice more deeply
• Seeing the advantages and disadvantages of any one
particular approach
• Building bridges between different approaches
• Learning how to teach people who are drawn to one or
another of them

There will be practical sessions to explore effective ways to teach meditation, with opportunities for further discussion and practice in small groups.

Note that retreat will start at 7am UK time with morning meditation on the first day and finish around 9pm UK on the last day.

The Sikkha team want people from around the world to feel welcome and included in this important retreat. In order to assist with organisation, please book by April 5th if you are from a non-UK time zone / language so we have time to prepare group facilitators and coordinators. If you would like to be in a non-English speaking group for the teaching practice groups, please let us know when you book what language you want.

You’re very welcome to join us if you are (or would like to be) teaching or communicating meditation in a Triratna context and within the context of the Triratna System of Practice.
For a taste of what this retreat will be like, do have a look at the videos of the teaching on the 2019 retreat.

Typical Retreat Day Timings

Session 1 (1.5 hours)

7am UK / 8am Mainland Europe / 11.30am India / 4pm Sydney/ 6pm New Zealand / 11pm US PDT / 1am Mexico City / 2am US EDT

Chanting and Double Led Meditation with the Adhisthana Community

Session 2 (2 hours)

10am UK / 11am Mainland Europe / 2.30pm India / 7pm Sydney/ 9pm New Zealand / 2am US PDT / 4am Mexico City / 5am US EDT

Input on Theme, with breakout rooms and panel discussion

For the US, Mexico and possibly New Zealand, you could watch these recordings in your own time (see Session 3 notes).

Session 3 (1.5 hours)

4pm UK / 5pm Mainland Europe / 8.30p India / 1am Sydney/ 3am New Zealand / 8am US West Coast / 10am Mexico City / 11am US East Coast

Meditation Teaching Practice Groups – based on the themes presented in Session 2 each day. A chance to practice leading a short meditation and engage in enquiry in small groups within a context of supportive feedback

Australia and New Zealand: we suggest that groups watch the Session 2 videos the following day to catch up, and the Sikkha Team will facilitate a coordinator from there to arrange Enquiry Group at a daily time that suits.

US East Coast and Mexico: we suggest that participants meet live for the Meditation Teaching Practice Groups with the rest of the retreat.

US West Coast: If 8am is too early for these groups the Sikkha Team will facilitate a coordinator from there to arrange Meditation Teaching Practice Groups at a time that suits. Please indicate your preference when you book.

Language groups: We would like to enable people to be in the Meditation Teaching Practice Groups with others speaking the same language if this is what participants would prefer. Please indicate this when you book, along with your language.

Session 4 (1 hour)

7.30pm UK / 8.30pm Mainland Europe / 12 mid-night India / 4.30am Sydney/ 6.30am New Zealand / 11.30am US West Coast / 1.30pm Mexico City / 2.30pm US East Coast

Short talk by a Team Member on their engagement with the Three Myths, followed by meditation and chanting or puja.

For India, Australia and New Zealand, this could be done via video recording in your own time.

Sikkha Meditation Mentoring Retreat

Led by Vidyamala, Tejananda, Vessantara, Jnanavaca, Vijayamala, Dhammarati and Vajrashura

This retreat is for members of the Triratna Buddhist Order

Start Date: 10th Apr 2021
End Date: 15th Apr 2021
Event Type: Online
Deposit: £50

This Event is by Donation (Dana). Booking includes a non-refundable deposit. If the deposit prevents you from booking, please get in contact.

Bursary Fund
If you can’t afford to come on retreat you might be interested in our bursary fund.