Laying the Foundations: Meditating with the Satipatthana Sutta

Tue 13 – Fri 16 July: (1 hour) IE & UK 7am | Europe CET 8am | India 11.30 | Australia AEST 4pm | New Zealand 6pm

‘Here, in regard to the body he abides contemplating the body…. In regard to feelings he abides contemplating feelings… In regard to the mind he abides contemplating the mind… In regard to dhammas he abides contemplating dhammas…. diligent, clearly knowing, and mindful, free from desires and discontent in regard to the world’.

By learning how to direct an active, intelligent awareness towards our breathing, bodily sensations, emotions, and thoughts we become able to see into the constantly changing nature of reality and free ourselves from clinging. Each day Sona will draw on his extensive experience to guide us through the four foundations of mindfulness, as presented in the Satipatthana Sutta. Expect a brief teaching on a key principle followed by a lightly guided meditation each session.

Sona was ordained by Sangharakshita in 1974 and has had a long relationship with Padmaloka, he was chair there in the 70s and returned in the 90s to spend a decade on the Ordination team. He spent many years in Sweden helping to establish the Stockholm Buddhist Centre and in 2003 co-founded Breathworks – a charity which help people in pain to lead better lives through mindfulness and kindness. Sona lives close to Adhisthana and considers himself part of the Adhisthana mandala. 

Laying the Foundations: Meditating with the Satipatthana Sutta

Led by Sona

1 hour: IE & UK 7am | Europe CET 8am | India 11.30 | Australia AEST 4pm | New Zealand 6pm

This retreat is for Triratna Mitras and members of the Triratna Buddhist Order only

Start Date: 13th Jul 2021
End Date: 16th Jul 2021
Event Type: Online
Deposit: £5

This Event is by Donation (Dana). Booking includes a non-refundable deposit. If the deposit prevents you from booking, please get in contact.

Dana/Bursary Donation
An opportunity to give if you are attending a dana event. For paid events, an invitation to contribute to our bursary fund.

Bookings are closed for this Event.